Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Logo des Instituts für Medizinische Soziologie

Further settings

Login for editors

Social inequalities of treatment and care for patients with diabetes mellitus type 2 (SODIA)

How social inequalities impact the course of treatment and care for patients with diabetes mellitus type 2. A qualitative study from the patient’s perspective. (SODIA)

Head of Project: Dr. Astrid Fink

Coordination: Eva-Maria Fach, Maximilian Werner

Duration: 01.04.2015 bis 31.07.2016

Funding Agency: 3rd Academy of the German Research Foundation for early-career researchers in health services research

In Germany, as in all modern societies, diabetes mellitus type 2 has a far-reaching impact on healthcare policies. This is not only because of its high incidence rate, but also because of an increased mortality mainly related to cardio-vascular diseases as well as diabetes-related secondary diseases. Countless medical, sociological and epidemiological studies have demonstrated that socioeconomic inequalities in diabetes mellitus type 2 affect groups with a low socioeconomic status to their disadvantage. International studies have shown that inequalities exist in relation to access and utilization, as well as in perceived quality of diabetes care to the disadvantage of patients with a low socioeconomic status. So far, knowledge of the impact of social inequalities on the quality of treatment for diabetes mellitus type 2 exists only fragmentarily since most of the time only one single sector of care has been analyzed. Moreover, the majority of studies that have been conducted in the past have used a quantitative approach, often providing only descriptive results.

Aim

This qualitative study will explore the impact of socioeconomic inequalities on access to, utilization and perceived quality of healthcare provision for patients with diabetes mellitus type 2. The study will focus on the perspectives of patients in different sectors of care and will also take into account patients’ previous experiences with the healthcare system. It seeks to examine whether socioeconomic inequalities are associated with access to, utilization and perceived quality of healthcare services during the different stages of healthcare for diabetes mellitus type 2. The study will also seek to answer the question whether specific factors can be identified that act as an intermediary between social inequalities and inequality within healthcare.

Methods

In this qualitative cross-sectional study, a minimum of 18 participants will be recruited in three different sectors of care (University hospital, general practitioner’s office, specialized diabetological practice. One half will come from a high socioeconomic status group, and the other half from a low socioeconomic status group. Data will be collected through semi-structured interviews.

Results

In this project, key points in the course of healthcare provision at which experiences of patients with different socioeconomic backgrounds start to diverge will be identified. Thus, the study constitutes a foundation for a better explanation of socioeconomic inequalities in healthcare. The theory which will be formed can be empirically tested in a follow-up study. Thereby, existing theories about the production of inequalities in healthcare and health inequalities can be complemented.

Contact Person: Please contact Amelie Baumann (+49 (0)345 557-1168) if you have any further questions.

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Logo des Instituts für Medizinische Soziologie

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Soziale Ungleichheiten beim Behandlungs- und Versorgungsverlauf bei Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 (SODIA)

Wie soziale Ungleichheiten den Behandlungs- und Versorgungsverlauf bei Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 beeinflussen. Eine qualitative Studie aus Sicht der Patienten (SODIA)

Projektleitung: Dr. Astrid Fink

Koordination: Eva-Maria Fach, Maximilian Werner

Laufzeit: 01.04.2015 bis 31.07.2016

Förderer: 3. DFG Nachwuchsakademie Versorgungsforschung

Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 hat in Deutschland und allen modernen Gesellschaften eine zentrale gesundheitspolitische Bedeutung. Diese ergibt sich zum einen aus der Erkrankungshäufigkeit, zum anderen aus der erhöhten Sterblichkeit vor allem an Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen sowie anderen diabetesbedingten Folgeerkrankungen. Unzählige medizinische, soziologische und epidemiologische Studien haben soziale Ungleichheiten bei Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 zu Ungunsten sozial benachteiligter Personengruppen nachweisen können. Internationale Studien zeigen zudem, dass Ungleichheiten nicht nur in der Gesundheit, sondern auch sowohl im Zugang und der Inanspruchnahme als auch in der Qualität der diabetischen Versorgung zu Lasten von Personen mit niedrigem sozialem Status existieren. Bisher liegen lediglich fragmentarische Erkenntnisse über den Einfluss sozialer Ungleichheiten auf die Versorgung bei Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 vor, da häufig nur ein einzelner Versorgungssektor untersucht wurde. Der Großteil der Studien folgt zudem einem quantitativen Ansatz, der oftmals nur deskriptive Ergebnisse zur Verfügung stellt.

Ziel

Ziel des Projektes ist es, im Rahmen einer qualitativen Studie den Einfluss sozialer Ungleichheiten auf den Zugang, die Inanspruchnahme und die wahrgenommene Qualität der gesundheitlichen Versorgung bei Patientinnen und Patienten mit Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 zu explorieren. Die Studie richtet die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Perspektive der Patienten in unterschiedlichen Versorgungbereichen und wird auch ihre bisherigen Erfahrungen im Gesundheitssystem berücksichtigen. Dabei soll analysiert werden, ob soziale Ungleichheiten mit dem Zugang, der Inanspruchnahme und der wahrgenommenen Qualität gesundheitlicher Versorgungsleistungen in unterschiedlichen Versorgungsphasen bei Diabetes mellitus Typ-2 assoziiert sind. Eine weitere Fragestellung untersucht, ob sich bestimmte Faktoren identifizieren lassen, die den Effekt zwischen sozialer Ungleichheit und Versorgung vermitteln.

Methodik

In dieser qualitativen Querschnittstudie werden insgesamt mindestens 18 Teilnehmer in drei verschieden Versorgungsbereichen (Universitätsklinikum, Hausarztpraxis, diabetologische Schwerpunktpraxis) rekrutiert, von denen jeweils die Hälfte aus einer hohen und einer niedrigen Statusgruppe kommen. Die Daten werden mittels leitfadengestützter Interviews erhoben.

Ergebnisse

In diesem Projekt werden Schlüsselstellen im Versorgungsverlauf identifiziert, an denen die Erfahrungen von Patienten unterschiedlicher sozialer Herkunft variieren. Damit stellt es eine Grundlage für eine bessere Erklärung sozialer Ungleichheiten in der Versorgung dar. Die gebildete Theorie kann in einem nächsten Projekt empirisch geprüft werden und damit die bisherigen Erklärungsmodelle zur Produktion von Versorgungsungleichheiten und gesundheitlicher Ungleichheit ergänzen.

Ansprechpartnerin: Bei Fragen zum Projekt wenden Sie sich an Frau Amelie Baumann (Tel. 0345 557-1168).

Zum Seitenanfang